I Learn Slowly

Cairngorms2017 (2)

Image credit: Dad, during our summer 2017 Cairngorms trek.

 

I learn slowly,

I make mistakes,

I pledge to change for all our sakes.

But when I fall in those same traps

Again, a chord in my mind snaps,

Unleashing rage from youthful heart

So that the dark cruel thinking starts

To light up little lilting sparks

That flare and course in flaming arcs

From flashing eyes to curling toes,

From shaking hands to upturned nose,

And then I wonder if I lie

As my excuses fill the sky:

I’m just trying to justify!

But really I just want to sigh

And admit as we start to cry

That I’m just fragile bone and flesh

So when old and new follies mesh

I shouldn’t be so damned surprised.

My pile of pledges, mountain-sized,

Swells on and on, while lessons learned,

Are in its shade, their leaves upturned:

They quiver and lay down their roots

To thrive under my raging boots

So that even while blazing thoughts

Streak through the air these learnèd knots

Of branching and determined plants

Begin their patient, sunlit dance

And as I sink into a trance

And realise I have a chance

To embrace every ragged flaw,

Tender, I begin to claw

Into the damp and fertile earth

And witness there the gentle birth

Of budding seeds and thoughtful hopes,

Bound by long roots as strong as ropes,

A network of enlightened dreams,

All stretching in organic streams

That will in time begin to bloom

Until there isn’t any room

Inside my mind except for fruit

From that green field, vibrant and mute,

Yet stronger than infernal rage

At same mistakes on every page.

See, over time I’ll come to tell

That learning is a living hell,

While thinking with a tired thrill:

“I learn slowly

But learn I will.”

Leave a comment